Ommegang – Game of Thrones Bend the Knee

Since I’ve been watching Game of Thrones and knew that Ommegang produced Game of Thrones themed beers I’ve been drinking the new ones every chance I get. With the latest season starting recently, I purchased the “Bend the Knee” release to try. While I haven’t had every beer they’ve released for Game of Thrones, the ones I’ve had were very good. I did not even look at the beer other than to see that it was Game of Thrones when I purchased it. It is a Belgian strong pale ale and came in a 25 fluid ounce (750 mL) bottle and is 9.0% alcohol by volume. It was purchased individually at a local liquor store.

Before I make this beer seem like a terrible beer, I have to disclose that I’m not a huge fan of strong Belgian beers. I do try them, and this one was purchased more for Game of Thrones than the style. The beer had a smooth pour, but with a LOT of head. After pouring, the head was over a third of the glass and continued to rise and eventually made the glass overflow. It took a few minutes for it to settle down so I could start drinking something other than head. The color is a nice golden with some haze like what you would expect from a Belgian. The smell was gave a lot of yeast and some malt and wasn’t very sweet considering it has Honey in it. The taste was very similar to the smell and I can’t say I was a huge fan. This definitely wasn’t a bad beer, but not to my liking. I did finish what I had poured so that says something.

If you know any strong Belgians that even I may like, let me know in the comments!

 

Author: timothydavidmcgrath

https://youtu.be/d8aIbzGaeMc My purpose is to expand my knowledge in the careers of Information Technology and Tactical Aircraft Maintenance through on the job training, formal and informal education, and through moving between different organizations. My 13 years of experience in Information Technology started with basic PC repair and has expanded to managing server farms and user accounts. This experience has been gained through both public and private organizations and ranged from very small to large government organizations. During my 5 years of experience in Tactical Aircraft Maintenance, I have learned three different airframes and worked at three different Aircraft Maintenance Units. I continue to work tirelessly to become an expert on my assigned airframe.

Leave a Reply

