AleSmith – Speedway Stout

This is the first beer I’ll have had from AleSmith. AleSmith was founded in 1995 and is based out of San Diego California. They offer a wide variety of year-round, seasonal, and barrel aged beers. The name AleSmith makes me think of someone hard at work forging the best beers they can possible make. And just the way their products sell make it seem like they’re doing a good job. They look more like a bottle of fine champagne than a bottle of beer.

From AleSmith; “Speedway Stout’s ominous, pitch-black appearance has become a hallmark of this modern-day classic. Chocolate and roasted malts dominate the flavor, supported by notes of dark fruit, toffee, and caramel. A healthy dose of locally-roasted coffee from Ryan Bros. Coffee, Inc. added to each batch brings out the beer’s dark chocolate flavors and enhances its drinkability. Despite its intensity, Speedway Stout’s fine carbonation and creamy mouthfeel make it very smooth and surprisingly easy to drink. This beer ages very well and will continue to mature for many years to come.”

I purchased AleSmiths Speedway Stout from a local liquor store, came in a 25.4 fluid ounce (750 mL) bottle, and is 12% alcohol by volume. AleSmith rates it at 70 IBU, recommends serving it in a tulip glass or goblet, and suggests it improves with age. The volume and alcohol content seems more like a barley wine or an actual bottle of wine rather than a beer and the bottle looks more like champagne. The IBU rating makes me think it will likely be bitter, but being an Imperial Stout with Coffee makes me think differently.

The beer pours smooth and very dark with a nice milk chocolate covered head. The amount of head seemed perfect and dissipated rather slowly. The smell is an amazing malty coffee smell with a bit of chocolate. It tastes even better than it smell and it definitely doesn’t taste bitter or like it has a high alcohol content. My first thought is that this beer is dangerous, especially with the volume. I suppose it would be better to share this beer with someone else, but it’s so good I want it all for myself. I ended up drinking it rather fast and realized quickly that the alcohol content is accurate. I really liked this beer, but think I need to find it in smaller bottles so I don’t get drunk. I would recommend this beer to anyone who likes a nice stout beer.

Have a beer you think could compete with AleSmith’s Speedway Stout, let me know in the comments!

Author: timothydavidmcgrath

https://youtu.be/d8aIbzGaeMc My purpose is to expand my knowledge in the careers of Information Technology and Tactical Aircraft Maintenance through on the job training, formal and informal education, and through moving between different organizations. My 13 years of experience in Information Technology started with basic PC repair and has expanded to managing server farms and user accounts. This experience has been gained through both public and private organizations and ranged from very small to large government organizations. During my 5 years of experience in Tactical Aircraft Maintenance, I have learned three different airframes and worked at three different Aircraft Maintenance Units. I continue to work tirelessly to become an expert on my assigned airframe.

Leave a Reply

